Baume Travel Grant

Annual value



1 year

Domestic deadline

16 February 2017

Int'l deadline

16 February 2017


 +61 2 6125 3448

The aim of the grant is to assist a NCEPH student (primary supervisor/Chair of panel is an NCEPH staff member), to travel to a national or international conference in pursuit of the student’s academic goals.

The funds for this grant come from an endowment made in 2001 to The Australian National University’s Endowment for Excellence by Emeritus Professor Peter Baume AO, Chancellor of the University.


To be eligible for consideration, the applicant must be a student who is primarily affiliated with NCEPH, i.e. the primary supervisor/Chair of Panel is an NCEPH staff member.

The grant is open to Masters and PhD students at NCEPH, i.e. their primary supervisor is an NCEPH staff member. 

Only in exceptional circumstances is a successful applicant eligible to apply again.

In the event that a student withdraws from the course during the travel period, the Committee will decide whether it is appropriate for the student to make a pro rata repayment of grant monies awarded.

How to apply

Due to the difficulty of planning conference travel in advance, and to ensure the grant best supports the needs of students, applications will be open throughout each calendar year. The NCEPH Head will advise students once the first application has been received, and invite additional applications. At this time the NCEPH Head will determine an appropriate closing date and will advise students accordingly.

How to apply ((by email to the NCEPH Head)

Applicants should provide:

  1. a one page (maximum) cover letter outlining the proposed activity for which funding is sought, including the proposed itinerary and costings
  2. A document addressing the selection criteria (no longer than 2 pages)
  3. A 2-page (maximum) CV

Selection criteria

  • The academic merit of the proposed activity
  • The benefit of the proposed activity to the student
  • The benefit of the proposed activity to RSPH

Updated:  20 September 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director/Page Contact:  Webmaster