The establishment of the original National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health (NCEPH)traces back to a 1986 review of Australian public health teaching and research undertaken for the Australian government by Dr Kerr White from the Rockefeller Foundation.

Subsequently in 1988, NCEPH was established by Bob Douglas with the aim of bringing together the disciplines of epidemiology and demography, with the purpose of understanding and solving the world’s health problems. 

In a significant development in 2012, NCEPH and the Centre for Mental Health Research (CMHR), another leading research centre that was established in 1975, amalgamated to form the ANU Research School of Population Health.

With the COVID-19 pandemic underscoring the importance of the NCEPH identity and its legacy, the School reaffirmed its commitment by adopting the National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health identity in 2022.

Today’s ‘new’ version of NCEPH not only acknowledges but celebrates the extraordinary contributions made under the original NCEPH name.

Building upon the interdisciplinary foundations, philosophies, and purpose established earlier, we work together through our diverse Centres and Departments below to improve and protect population health and health equity for all:

  • National Centre for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Wellbeing Research
  • Centre of Epidemiology for Policy and Practice
  • Centre for Mental Health Research
  • Department of Health Economics Wellbeing and Society
  • Department of Applied Epidemiology